• Webcast

The road to debt recovery in the Middle East

12pm GST/9am BST/4am EST

  • Daniel Hall

Middle East banks are facing an unprecedent rise in non-performing loans (NPLs) in the aftermath of the pandemic; in fact, the IMF reported that Middle East banks had to absorb $180 billion in NPLs and defaults in 2020 alone.

With the slow pace of post-pandemic economic recovery, banks face increased risk, lower profitability and more pressure to proactively clean up their balance sheets and pursue new ways to unlock value from their NPL books. As the UAE continues to position itself as a hub for global business, trade and finance and as the banking industry moves towards recovery in 2021, there will likely be increased demand for asset recovery services.

In this hour long webcast Burford Managing Director Daniel Hall and DWF Managing Partner James Fox as they discuss the obstacles to asset recovery in the region and how alternative financing arrangements can help.

By watching this webcast attendees will learn:

  • The NPL landscape in the Middle East 
  • The roadblocks to recovering valuable assets in the region
  • The role of legal finance in assisting with enforcement challenges such as those claimants face in the UAE

 


Contact Burford to learn more about this marketing event

Learn how Burford can help

Burford’s capabilities and expertise meet a range of clients’ commercial legal finance needs. Contact our team to learn more.

Read Daniel Hall's Profile
Daniel Hall

Daniel Hall

Managing Director

Read Hannah Howlett's Profile
Hannah Howlett

Hannah Howlett

Vice President